Rugby World Cup 2023 fixtures: Which teams are in the tournament, what are the pools and where to watch on TV

Post date:



Prepare to spend the next two months glued to your TV – the Rugby World Cup is upon us. With four pools and the knockout stages taking place across September and October, there’ll be hours of action before one team lifts the Webb Ellis Cup.

Wales will start the tournament against Fiji on Sunday, September 10 in the first of four pool matches, but the tournament itself gets started on Friday, September 8. Every game will be televised and we’ve got the full details of where and when to watch them below.

Our reporters are already out in France ready to bring you the latest updates from the Wales camp. You can keep up to date with the goings-on by joining our Rugby WhatsApp community or subscribing to our email newsletter.

What are the Rugby World Cup pools?

As usual, the teams are divided into four pools of five teams. Each team will play every team in their pool once, and the top two in each pool progress to the quarter-finals.

Wales are in Pool C. A total 48 matches will be played over the tournament. These are the pools for 2023:

  • Pool A: New Zealand, France, Italy, Uruguay, Namibia
  • Pool B: South Africa, Ireland, Scotland, Tonga, Romania
  • Pool C: Wales, Australia, Fiji, Georgia, Portugal
  • Pool D: England, Japan, Argentina, Samoa, Chile

Make sure to pick up your brilliant 48-page guide to the Rugby World Cup here and get the official match programmes for every game here.

Which TV channels are showing Rugby World Cup games and can you stream them online?

ITV is the main English-language broadcaster for the tournament, with coverage of every game starting from up to an hour before kick-off. Most games will be on ITV1 with the exception of eight games on ITV4, and will also be available on ITVX.

Every Wales game will be broadcast live on S4C, too, available to view on S4C, S4C Clic and BBC iPlayer. The Welsh-language broadcaster will also show selected other games – the opening match (France v New Zealand), a quarter-final, a semi-final, the bronze final and the final.

Credit To Onwer