Wallabies exclusive squad news, Australia coach Eddie Jones tipped by Drew Mitchell to make late changes

Post date:



Wallabies great Drew Mitchell is tipping coach Eddie Jones to make shock late changes to his Rugby World Cup squad.

Jones named his World Cup squad in Darwin on August 10 but teams have until August 28 to submit their final, official lists of 33 players.

The Wallabies were crushed 41-17 by France on Monday (AEST) in their last Test before their World Cup opener against Georgia on September 10 (AEST).

Watch the 2023 Rugby World Cup on the home of rugby, Stan Sport. All matches streaming ad free, live and on demand

“Knowing Eddie Jones and seeing some of his selections and the way that he does things, I would expect probably two to three changes,” Mitchell said on Nine’s Sports Sunday.

“I know it sounds crazy, that we’re on the eve of the World Cup, but I would expect a number of changes. There would be nothing worse than being one of those players to get a tap on the shoulder.”

The Wallabies are 0-5 in 2023 in Jones’ second coming as coach since ousting Dave Rennie in January.

READ MORE: Wallabies crushed by hosts on eve of Rugby World Cup

READ MORE: ‘Disaster’ strikes All Blacks on eve of Rugby World Cup

READ MORE: Josh Giddey involved in tense exchange with referee

Jones has been wildly unpredictable with his selections and watched Australia A beat World Cup pool rivals Portugal 30-17 in Paris on Sunday (AEST).

That team included the likes of Pete Samu, Bernard Foley, Tom Wright, James O’Connor, Lachie Swinton and Ned Hanigan.

“Giving a couple of guys an opportunity to state their final claims,” Mitchell said.

“I just think Eddie Jones has got another couple of little crafty moves up his sleeve.”


Forwards: Will Skelton (c), Angus Bell, Pone Fa’amausili, Zane Nonggorr, Blake Schoupp, James Slipper, Taniela Tupou, Matt Faessler, Dave Porecki, Jordan Uelese, Richie Arnold, Nick Frost, Matt Philip, Langi Gleeson, Tom Hooper, Rob Leota, Fraser McReight, Rob Valetini, Josh Kemeny

Backs: Issak Fines-Leleiwasa, Tate McDermott, Nic White, Carter Gordon, Lalakai Foketi, Samu Kerevi, Izaia Perese, Jordan Petaia, Max Jorgensen, Andrew Kellaway, Marika Koroibete, Mark Nawaqanitawase, Suliasi Vunivalu, Ben Donaldson

Credit To Onwer