Exeter and Sandy Park chosen as host city for Women’s Rugby World

Post date:



Exeter and Sandy Park have been chosen as a host city and venue for the Women’s Rugby World Cup 2025.

Exeter and Sandy Park are one of only eight cities and stadiums that will be playing host to the biggest ever celebration of women’s rugby.

The host cities and venues were announced today (Tuesday 22 August) by World Rugby and the RFU, with support from the UK Government. The announcement comes with just two years to go until the Rugby World Cup 2025 kicks off.

The tournament will take place between 22 August and 27 September 2025 at the following host cities and venues:

  • Exeter – Sandy Park
  • Brighton and Hove – Brighton and Hove Albion Stadium
  • Bristol – Ashton Gate
  • London – Twickenham Stadium
  • Manchester – Salford Community Stadium
  • Northampton – Franklin’s Gardens
  • Sunderland – Stadium of Light
  • York – York Community Stadium

The 2025 Rugby World Cup will see new standards set for 2025 with teams increased from 12 to 16 as women’s participation accelerates around the globe. The tournament is set to be the most accessible ever, with a countrywide format giving unparalleled opportunity to see, engage with and support the stars of the women’s game.

Exeter City Council Leader, Phil Bialyk, said: “This is fantastic news for Exeter, for rugby fans and for the women’s game.

“We were privileged to be chosen as a host city for the 2015 Men’s Rugby World Cup and now to be chosen again for the 2025 Women’s Rugby World Cup is the icing on top of the cake.”

Bindu Arjoon, Chief Executive of Exeter City Council said: “Once again Exeter has been put on the sporting map and the eyes of the rugby world will be focused firmly on Exeter. I must pay tribute to everyone who has campaigned for our amazing city to host the Rugby World Cup 2025 and all the hard work that has gone in to making this bid successful.”

Cllr Duncan Wood, Lead Councillor for Leisure Services and Physical Activity, said: “This is inspirational for hundreds and thousands of female rugby players across Exeter, Devon and the whole of the country. I have no doubt that this will have a lasting positive effect on rugby in the region.”

Following a competitive selection process, the final roster of host cities and venues reflects the tournament’s core mission of growing the sport, taking rugby across the country and engaging with diverse communities. All will provide a family-focused festival of rugby.

For the first time ever, the elite women’s rugby tournament will be hosted across eight venues and cities around the country with 16 teams competing to be crowned world champions.

While the full match schedule and ticketing details will be announced next year, the milestone two-year celebration and confirmation of dates and venues provides the ability for fans across England to start to plan their Rugby World Cup 2025 experience.

Canada, England, France and New Zealand have already qualified for Rugby World Cup 2025 after finishing in the top four of RWC 2021, with the remaining positions to be filled via World Rugby’s new women’s international 15s tournament, WXV, and regional competitions in 2024.

To be the first to hear all the latest news updates including ticketing information, fans can register here.

Credit To Onwer