Stormers change 3 for Pumas clash as Kitshoff, Ntubeni ruled out due to Covid-19 protocols

John Dobson (Gallo Images)

John Dobson (Gallo Photographs)&#zero13;

The Stormers have made three modifications to their staff to face the Pumas after Steven Kitshoff and Scarra Ntubeni have been dominated out of the matchday squad attributable to Covid-19 protocols.

Each Kitshoff and Ntubeni are at present isolating at dwelling after coming into contact with any one that has examined optimistic for the virus.

That signifies that Leon Lyons will make his Stormers debut as he replaces Kitshoff at loosehead prop.

Wing Edwill van der Merwe begins out broad as an alternative of the injured Sergeal Petersen, whereas up entrance Chris van Zyl is accessible in at lock in a rotational swap that sees JD Schickerling drop to the bench.

Prop Kwenzo Blose and hooker Chad Solomon are each amongst an prolonged itemizing of replacements together with flank Jaco Coetzee, scrumhalf Godlen Masimla and utility as shortly as extra Tristan Leyds, who all didn’t carry out final week.

The replacements bench will solely be finalised on Friday.

Stormers Head Coach John Dobson talked about that the journey to Nelspruit will seemingly be a formidable likelihood for his staff to diploma what they discovered from their opening match.

“We now have to see enchancment and enchancment in optimistic areas of our recreation and an away recreation in Nelspruit will seemingly be a formidable study of that.

“We now have some thrilling gamers coming into the combo this week, so we’re attempting ahead to seeing what they’ve to produce as we protect establishing,” he talked about.

The match in opposition to the Pumas kicks off at 19:00 on Friday at Mbombela Stadium.



15 Devon Williams, 14 Neil Maritz, 13 Erich Cronje, 12 Wayne van der Financial institution, 11 Etienne Taljaard, 10 Eddie Fouche, 9 Ginter Smuts, eight Jeandre Rudolph, 7 Willie Engelbrecht, 6 Francois Kleinhans, 5 Pieter Jansen van Vuren (captain), four Darrien Landsberg, three Ruan Kramer, 2 AJ le Roux, 1 Morgan Naude

Substitutes: 16 Simon Westraadt, 17 Liam Hendricks, 18 Heath Backhouse, 19 Phumzile Maqondwana, 20 Dian Badenhorst, 21 Niel Marais, 22 Ali Mgijima, 23 Ig Prinsloo


15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Edwill van der Merwe, 13 Dan du Plessis, 12 Rikus Pretorius, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Herschel Jantjies, eight Juarno Augustus, 7 Ernst van Rhyn, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Chris van Zyl, four Salmaan Moerat, three Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Leon Lyons.

Substitutes from: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Kwenzo Blose, 18 Neethling Fouche, 19 JD Schickerling, 20 Nama Xaba, 21 Jaco Coetzee, 22 Godlen Masimla, 23 Michal Haznar, 24 Tim Swiel, 25 Tristan Leyds.

Present hyperlink Rugby

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.