SA caddie helps Frenchman Roussel share Alfred Dunhill Championship lead

Robin Roussel and his caddie

Robin Roussel and his caddie

Richard Heathcote/Getty Photos

Frenchman Robin Roussel and Poland’s Adrian Meronk share the lead after the opening spherical of the Alfred Dunhill Championship at Leopard Creek.

The duo produced rounds of seven-under-par 65 to info the sphere by one shot.

Roussel, who’s a European Draw back Tour graduate, was grateful to his South African caddie Navy Nathi Mdluli for the function he carried out in his 5 birdies on the as soon as extra 9.

“I began the spherical fairly correctly in order that put me just a bit bit bit in confidence,” he talked about.

“I had a bunch of fantastic birdies and good putts considerably. I am fortunate to have Navy on the bag, who’s a neighborhood so he’ll get to be taught the greens fairly correctly,” Roussel instructed the European Tour following his spherical.

“He helped tons of… I actually really feel with out him I might not have been capable of put all these in. Good drives, good iron footage and good putts so I am fairly comfortable.”

Meronk carried out an almost flawless opening spherical as he scored two eagles, 4 birdies and one bogey for the share of the lead.

Englishman Richard Bland shot seven birdies and two bogeys to signal a 5-under 67 to take a seat down third.

Ockie Strydom is the proper South African on the leaderboard as he carded a bogey-free opening spherical of Four-under 68 to take a seat down T4.

Loads of South Africans together with Garrick Higgo and Daniel van Tonder are at present tied for sixth on Three-under.

Foremost scores after first spherical of European Tour/Sunshine Tour co-sanctioned Alfred Dunhill Championship at par 72 Leopard Creek Nation Membership close to the northeastern metropolis of Malelane in South Africa Thursday (RSA apart from well-known):

65 – Adrian Meronk (POL), Robin Roussel (FRA)

66 – Scott Jamieson (SCO)

67 – Richard Bland (ENG)

68 – Gavin Inexperienced (MAS), Sebastian Garcia Rodriguez (ESP), Ockie Strydom

69 – Christiaan Basson, Christiaan Bezuidenhout, Jacques Blaauw, Steven Brown (ENG), Benjamin Follett-Smith (ZIM), David Horsey (ENG), Matthew Jordan (ENG), Masahiro Kawamura (JPN), Jbe Kruger, Joost Luiten (NED), James du Preez, Jayden Trey Schaper, Marcel Siem (GER), Daniel van Tonder, Oliver Wilson (ENG), Chris Wooden (ENG)


70 – Joachim B. Hansen (DEN)

71 – Wilco Nienaber

74 – Pablo Larrazabal (ESP)

Featured second spherical tee occasions:

06:30 – Vincent Scott, MJ Daffue, Ockie Strydom

06:40 – JC Ritchie, Masahiro Kawamura, Garrick Higgo

07:00 – Wilco Nienaber, Robert Macintyre, George Coetzee

07:10 – Eddie Pepperell, Joachim B. Hansen, Christiaan Bezuidenhout

12:00 – Pablo Larrazabal, Daniel van Tonder, Matthias Schwab

12:10 – Adrian Otaegui, Brandon Stone, Adri Arnaus

12:50 – Richard Bland, Joel Sjoholm, Keith Horne

– Compiled by Lynn Butler

Present hyperlink Golf

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.