Quinton de Kock, Laura Wolvaardt scoop top honours at Cricket SA awards

Quinton de Kock (Photo by Dan Mullan/Getty Images)

Quinton de Kock (Picture by Dan Mullan/Getty Footage)

  • Proteas stars Quinton de Kock and Laura Wolvaardt have been named SA Males’s and Women’s Cricketer of the Yr of their respective options.
  • Attributable to Covid-19 lockdown, the normal gala ceremony was held virtually on Saturday night time time.
  • De Kock joined the elite firm of those which have been named SA Males’s Cricketer of the Yr on two events – his earlier accolade coming in 2017.

Proteas stars Quinton de Kock and Laura Wolvaardt had been named SA Males’s and Women’s Cricketer of the Yr of their respective options at Cricket South Africa’s (CSA) digital awards ceremony which was held on Saturday night time time.

The standard gala ceremony was not attainable due to the Covid-19 lockdown, nonetheless didn’t cease the CSA household celebrating the event in an associated technique.

De Kock and Wolvaardt had been honoured in three fully totally fully totally totally fully completely different options.

De Kock was furthermore named Take a look at Cricketer of the Yr and honoured by his associates as SA Males’s Avid players’ Participant of the Yr, whereas Wolvaardt was named Proteas ODI Cricketer of the Yr and voted SA Women’s Avid players’ Participant of the Yr.

De Kock joined the elite firm of those which have been named SA Males’s Cricketer of the Yr on two events as he was beforehand honoured in 2017. The choice double winners of CSA’s most prestigious males’s award are Jacques Kallis (2004 and 2011), Makhaya Ntini (2005 and 2006), Hashim Amla (2010 and 2013), AB de Villiers (2014 and 2015) and Kagiso Rabada (2016 and 2018).

The choice earlier winners because of the awards had been instituted in 2004 are Shaun Pollock (2007), Dale Steyn (2008), Graeme Smith (2009), Vernon Philander (2012) and Faf du Plessis (2019).

Wolvaardt turns into the youngest winner of South Africa’s prime women’s award on the age of 21 years and two months, with Sune Luus being merely two months older when she obtained the award in 2017.

In a extreme for gender equality, two of the awards – the SA Followers’ Cricketer of the Yr which was determined by a web-based ballot and the KFC Streetwise Award – had been contested by each the Proteas males’s and women’s avid players. The sooner award went to David Miller in an outstanding contest which was solely determined all by the ultimate phrase phrase week and the latter was obtained by Mignon du Preez for her good six hit that almost clinched South Africa’s victory over England at this 12 months’s ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.

It carried out an infinite carry out in getting the Proteas by to the semi-finals and was furthermore South Africa’s first victory over England in a extreme ICC women’s match.

The choice huge winners all by the males’s nationwide awards had been Lungi Ngidi, who was named each Males’s ODI Cricketer of the Yr and Males’s T20 Worldwide Cricketer of the Yr, and Anrich Nortje who was not solely named Males’s Worldwide Newcomer of the Yr nonetheless together with obtained the Present of the Yr award for his dismissal of David Warner all by the third ODI at Senwes Park.

The choice prime award all by the ladies’s class went to Shabnim Ismail, who was as quickly as extra named Proteas T20 Worldwide Participant of the Yr, whereas the theme of youthful winners continued with 19-year-old Nonkululeko Mlaba being named Worldwide Women’s Newcomer of the Yr.

“Quinny and Laura have set the one requirements that we rely on from our icon Proteas avid players,” CSA’s performing CEO Jacques Faul talked about by means of a press assertion. “Quinny is the first wicketkeeper/batsman in Take a look at cricket and is, genuinely, one amongst many foremost batsmen in each purple ball and white ball cricket. He’s furthermore beginning to emerge as an attractive chief as witnessed by the Proteas clear sweep of Australia of their current ODI assortment.

“Laura was named all by the match choose XI on the conclusion of the ICC Women’s World T20 which tells us an unbelievable deal referring to the esteem by which she is held at worldwide stage. On the age of 21 her most attention-grabbing years are forward of her and she or he will seemingly be a key participant when the Momentum Proteas go to the ICC Women’s World Cup subsequent 12 months.”

Faul added that he was glad to see pretty only a few youthful avid players beginning to dominate at worldwide stage as South African cricket enters a mannequin new interval.

“Anrich Nortje and Lungi Ngidi have ensured that our quick bowling shares protect among the many many many many many many many most attention-grabbing on the earth.

“It is a obligatory signal of the altering face of cricket that for the primary time our largest males’s and women’s avid players competed on a stage having pleasing with matter for fairly quite a few the awards and Mignon du Preez’s achievement in being named winner of the KFC Streetwise Award is a extraordinarily crucial one. She has been an outstanding servant of the sport for a protracted time interval and her effectivity in reaching the milestone of 100 T20 Worldwide caps deserves specific stage out.

“Our dwelling cricket stays blessed with good experience and congratulations to your complete winners in these options as effectively. I warmly congratulate all our winners, each at worldwide and residential stage, and I furthermore want to take this chance to acknowledge our umpires, grounds employees and scorers, too.”


Grant Roelofsen of the Dolphins was one among two huge winners all by the Skilled Awards: Dwelling class, being named One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Season and Dwelling Avid players’ Participant of the Season. George Linde of the Cape Cobras was furthermore a double winner, being named 4-day Dwelling Sequence Cricketer of the Yr and the SACA Most Treasured Participant (MVP).

The choice winners had been Wandile Gwavu of the Lions (Coach of the Season) and Wandile Makwetu of the Knights (Dwelling Newcomer of the season).

The Mzansi Large League awards went to Tabraiz Shamsi of the Paarl Rocks as Mzansi Large League Have an effect on Participant of the Yr and to Janneman Malan of the Cape Metropolis Blitz as Mzansi Large League Youthful Participant of the Yr.

The provincial class winners had been: Lerato Kgoatle (CSA Provincial T20 Cricketer of the Yr), Beyers Swanepoel (CSA Provincial Three-Day Cricketer of the Yr), Ruan de Swardt (CSA Provincial One-Day Cricketer of the Yr) and Richard das Neves (Provincial Coach of the Yr).


All by the operational class, Adrian Holdstock did the double of each the CSA Umpire of the Yr and the CSA Umpires’ Umpire of the Yr.

The CSA Reliable Play award went to the Warriors and the CSA Scorers of the Yr award to the Central Gauteng Lions.

Present hyperlink Cricket

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.