Englishman, American share lead at European Tour event in Cyprus

Mitch Waite. (Photo by Andrew Redington/Getty Images)

Mitch Waite. ( by Andrew Redington/Getty Footage)

There was nothing to separate Mitch Waite and Johannes Veerman on the prime of the leaderboard on the very best of the primary day of the inaugural Cyprus Open.

Englishman Waite and American Veerman each made an eagle of their opening 64s on the gorgeous Aphrodite Hills Resort to take a seat down down down down a single shot away from their nearest challengers – Andy Sullivan, Sami Valimaki, Joel Stalter, David Drysdale and Jamie Donaldson.

Oliver Farr and Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano, who’ve been all through the 2 teams with one gap of their first spherical nonetheless to finish when play was suspended on account of fading delicate, have been a part of the logjam on 5 beneath. They might end up on Friday morning.

Waite, having pleasurable with in merely his fourth European Tour occasion, set the tempo in useful morning scoring circumstances after following up a entrance 9 32 that contained 4 birdies with an eagle, three birdies and two bogeys on the homeward 9 to leap to seven beneath par.

Veerman joined Waite on the summit spherical an hour later after along with 5 birdies to his eagle on the tenth in a glowing first spherical effort.

Main first-round scores from the European Tour’s inaugural Cyprus
Open on Thursday at Paphos (GBR & IRL until acknowledged/par 71):

64 – Mitch Waite, Johannes Veerman (USA)

65 – Andy Sullivan, Sami Valimaki (FIN), David Drysdale, Joel Stalter (FRA), Jamie Donaldson

– David Horsey, Lorenzo Gagli (ITA), Richard McEvoy, Oliver Farr,
Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano (ESP), Will Enefer, Pedro Figueiredo (POR),
Thomas Detry (BEL), Marcus Armitage, Clement Sordet (FRA)

67 –
Shubhankar Sharma (IND), Wil Besseling (NED), Jack Senior, Jordan Smith,
Callum Shinkwin, Adrien Saddier (FRA), Matthias Schwab (AUT), Laurie
Canter, Oliver Wilson

Present hyperlink Golf

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.